Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   My plan for breaking into finance sector (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1744-my-plan-breaking-into-finance-sector.html)

alwaysnforever 28-02-2012 11:15 AM

My plan for breaking into finance sector

Currently 27 this year, and I am studying for my gmat, and will apply to SMU's masters in applied finance next year. If all goes well, I will grad at age 29/30 depending on whether I take full time or part time studies.

I am currently in the public sector, and as I have no real skillset in finance, I think this will be the best option for me to break into to that sector, with a higher notch above the fresh grads.

Comments?

Unregistered 28-02-2012 11:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alwaysnforever (Post 21434)
Currently 27 this year, and I am studying for my gmat, and will apply to SMU's masters in applied finance next year. If all goes well, I will grad at age 29/30 depending on whether I take full time or part time studies.

I am currently in the public sector, and as I have no real skillset in finance, I think this will be the best option for me to break into to that sector, with a higher notch above the fresh grads.

Comments?

Maybe finance then will be different from finance now. There are people, especially those in the west, already talking about how finance has been evolving in the face of government control and popular dissent.

alwaysnforever 28-02-2012 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 21435)
Maybe finance then will be different from finance now. There are people, especially those in the west, already talking about how finance has been evolving in the face of government control and popular dissent.

that is not really constructive with regard to my question...

Unregistered 28-02-2012 12:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by alwaysnforever (Post 21437)