Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

My plan for breaking into finance sector

Old 28-02-2012, 08:10 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysnforever View Post
Currently 27 this year, and I am studying for my gmat, and will apply to SMU's masters in applied finance next year. If all goes well, I will grad at age 29/30 depending on whether I take full time or part time studies.

I am currently in the public sector, and as I have no real skillset in finance, I think this will be the best option for me to break into to that sector, with a higher notch above the fresh grads.

Comments?
I suggest u ask around first and find out whether top tier financial inst actually hirefrom smu at an assocaite type level (as opposed to analyst level, no diff from fresh grad). Otherwise wasting time n money

Old 28-02-2012, 10:17 PM

Anonymous is on a distinguished road

I strongly suggest you do an MBA overseas rather than the applied finance course. The options available to you will be significantly increased. You might be thinking of going into investments, or IB, etc (although it is not easy). They tend to hire MBAs over the rest.

Old 28-02-2012, 11:20 PM

alwaysnforever is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I suggest u ask around first and find out whether top tier financial inst actually hirefrom smu at an assocaite type level (as opposed to analyst level, no diff from fresh grad). Otherwise wasting time n money
quite a number of financial institutions hire associates at the masters level, although it may be a lot trickier to know if SMU is a msc finance school they will consider. I could do an associate level programme at a local bank before switching over to bigger banks and BB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anonymous View Post