Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Advice Needed!! Pls read (Career in RSN) (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1708-advice-needed-pls-read-career-republic-singapore-navy.html)

Cassette 11-02-2012 01:18 PM

Advice Needed!! Pls read (Career in RSN)

Hi everyone, i have sign on with the navy as a naval officer.
i hold a diploma in marine & offshore technology and was accepted in SIT with a degree in Naval Architecture. If everything goes smoothly, i will start my 2 year study in 2013 and after i graduated, i need to serve my 4 year bond which will finish when i am 28 years old.

I am in a dilemma whether to sign as a naval officer or a Military Expert 4 (officer equivalent) as i still can be able to change. ME4 is more to engineering which is a bit more related to my course whereas a naval officer is more to warfare and navigation.

The pay wise after my degree would be around 3.5k-4.8k for both vocation.

What i would like to know is which is the better choice for getting a civilian job after my bond. As a ME4 or as a naval officer?( I would most probably go to the marine industry after my bond)
Also, what are some examples of the jobs i could get as a naval officer and as a ME4.

Anyone with any experiences to share?
Appreciate very much.

Bean 11-02-2012 01:23 PM

As ME4>>>>after bond can join ST marine as engineer

Unregistered 11-02-2012 02:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bean (Post 20622)
As ME4>>>>after bond can join ST marine as engineer

agreed, based on what u have said ME4 seems to be the best option.

Unregistered 11-02-2012 08:16 PM

thank you guys.
how about as a naval officer? can i land a job in PSA or keppel? or can ME4 get into those as well?