Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Job Application with MOE (non-teaching position) (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1593-job-application-ministry-education-singapore-non-teaching-position.html)

Unregistered 24-12-2017 07:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by KPO (Post 103323)
In our local non profit sector, no GM or ED's salary has ever hit 100K per annum...thanks to NKF...the highest I gotten was 7.5K. I took a pay cut of 1K for my last drawn.

Also, the AM post at MOE would be a foundation posting and since I am changing industry, I am happy to start somewhere, anywhere.

I am going to hit the big 50 in a couple of years time...how about some encouragement for me...I know you meant well...but trust me, its lonely at the top and when I look back at those times when I was a young officer, I really miss the camaraderie among staff level.

Oh NKF... Sorry I was under the impression you were a Executive Director in the public sector like a ministry or stat board, hence my reply was geared towards that. NKF's job titles are a completely different thing altogether.

I know it sounds discouraging, but the truth is I doubt recruiters in the market including the public sector would consider that as 8 years of senior level management experience. In terms of both pay and job complexity, most would equate that as a middle or mid-low level management in public sector/GLC and maybe even non-management senior associate level in bigger MNCs.

Anyway since you want to take on admin roles, there's really no need to restrict yourself to a school AM. There's plenty of opportunities in ministries and stat boards which are admin/planning in nature at around the AD/SM level which are IMO more suitable for you.