Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Advice needed on the importance of title (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1548-advice-needed-importance-title.html)

yanyan5734 04-10-2011 11:54 PM

Advice needed on the importance of title

I'm now a Project Manager in a logistic MNC, joined them after graduation 7 years ago and have been with them since then. Recently some of my peers have ask their boss to grant them an external title like Director or Vice President in order to have better credibility with clients.

I am also quite tempted actually to make a request to HR for a title change because it really sounds cool (ok, I admit I'm shallow) but more importantly I have been thinking of leaving for greener pastures. I think a good title will help out in terms of amplifying my role and also salary negotiation power.

My view is that with so many banks and MNC offering VP or Director, I might loose out at first sight in CV if put manager. Even civil service and some stat board I heard have fresh grads join as manager.

Do you think it is worth to bring it up to company?

Thanks in advance.

Unregistered 05-10-2011 10:38 AM

Just having a glorified title means nothing at the end of the day if u are just doing some admin job.

Honestly, the HR can know if u r what ur title refers to based on your salary. So having a big title is good when dealing with customers but not really when u looking for jobs....

Unregistered 05-10-2011 12:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 16961)
Just having a glorified title means nothing at the end of the day if u are just doing some admin job.

Honestly, the HR can know if u r what ur title refers to based on your salary. So having a big title is good when dealing with customers but not really when u looking for jobs....