Q: Big4 - Yearly salary increment

Old 22-12-2024, 04:40 PM

Malaysian got some goal to work for. Grind a few years in SG play office politics in Big 4 after that can retire with large landed back home. that's why they are super motivated.

For Sinkies what goal is there? If you enter Big 4 means you already lucked out on your 1st 2nd or 3rd choice job. Resigned to the fate of overworked underpaid at the end can only go back to small HDB. Getting surpassed by your peers in finance or even insolan agen. Where got motivation still.
Grind a few more years, then go commercial. Don’t need to keep comparing with Malaysians, focus on your own path. If you can tahan until Senior, your pay will already be slightly better than those who left earlier for commercial.

Old 22-12-2024, 04:52 PM

Grind a few more years, then go commercial. Don’t need to keep comparing with Malaysians, focus on your own path. If you can tahan until Senior, your pay will already be slightly better than those who left earlier for commercial.
In the first place people don’t like the “tahan until senior” part.

Who came up with this system / culture anyway?

Old 22-12-2024, 06:06 PM

anyone transitioned to internal audit?

How is the jump from ea to ia?
How is ia working hours?
Is the work easier than ea?
How is the progression in big 4 ia?

Old 22-12-2024, 11:27 PM

anyone transitioned to internal audit?

How is the jump from ea to ia?
How is ia working hours?
Is the work easier than ea?
How is the progression in big 4 ia?
Big4 got IA meh? Audit who?
Old 23-12-2024, 02:48 AM

Originally Posted by EDMWer View Post
One thing about Malaysians is that they are united as a bunch and they have some form of cronyism going on

I think Singaporeans should learn from Malaysians in this aspect
malaysians are weak in english. they need as much help as they can get
nothing to learn for singaporeans here
audit is malaysian dumping ground
malaysians are meant to serve us singaporeans, build our economy, pay their landlord so we can retire
Old 23-12-2024, 09:00 AM

You all so anti malaysian. Just ban malaysian from entering singapore.

Old 23-12-2024, 09:46 AM

In the first place people don’t like the “tahan until senior” part.
Who came up with this system / culture anyway?
The seniors.
Old 23-12-2024, 10:34 AM
EDMWer

malaysians are weak in english. they need as much help as they can get
nothing to learn for singaporeans here
audit is malaysian dumping ground
malaysians are meant to serve us singaporeans, build our economy, pay their landlord so we can retire
With more functions being shifted overseas, the battle for existing accounting roles will only get more rigourous. Only very senior role will be in SG for tax residency and tax purposes

The other day i was looking at how much wedding photographers earn

Its at least 5k with prewedding photoshoot and actual day photographer
and right here we are only paying 4.3k salary to big 4 associates and they can only afford 1 proper photoshoot after saving up for 2 months

No wonder birthrates are at all time low
Old 23-12-2024, 10:41 AM
EDMWer

You all so anti malaysian. Just ban malaysian from entering singapore.
There are many job opportunities in USA and China

Can follow Tiktok CEO careerpath. In fact working overseas will give you an edge over your peers when it comes to regional roles

Dont understand why everyone wants to saturate over here

Keep seeing 100+ applicants for CFO position
Old 23-12-2024, 11:00 AM
EDMWer

The world is trending towards late stage capitalism and population decline at the same time. Not to mention that prolonged high inflation with strong SG dollar in Singapore will lead to economy recession to certain degree and greater overseas spending.

So now its likely that economic activity will remain the same or drop - PAP’s population ponzi includes increasing the amount of PMETs at the same time. Exploitation is expected to continue with capitalists dictating the job market salaries.

If you are the CFO/FM/Controller of an industry that profits in these circumstances, you will continue to enjoy benefits

If you are not in any of those industries, good luck to you.

Im forseeing stormy days ahead for accounting