Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

SIM-UOL fresh grad starting pay

Old 25-05-2014, 05:19 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Hi I'm a third year UOL undergraduate. I just completed my exams and am currently looking for a job. I understand and accept the fact that employers would discriminate my degree.To make matters worse, I predict that I will only get a pass or a third class honours. I just hope I get lucky enough to land a job related to my degree. But reading all the comments on this forums makes me feel a bit depress and hopeless.
Dude, no one discriminate your degree. It is. What it is. Would you consider it discrimination when you can't get into a role meant for Oxbridge? If it is not, then you shouldn't see it discrimination when you are not offered a role specifically looking for local grads.

Having said that, there are obviously many employers that will evaluate candidates holistically. If you think you are at a disadvantage in ur degree, impress them in other areas.

Old 25-05-2014, 05:49 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Big4 corporate advisory is not known for paying well...
Then isn't it disingenuous to compare what he is doing to IB CF? You can read the full quote below but basically it seems from the way he typed that he managed to get into a CF role (no mention where it was) and hence people would be able to similarly get into IB CF with a UOL degree. Only in the much later second post did he mention that he is neither in IB nor fortune 500. No offence but comparing an experience landing <40k p.a. role to an almost 100k p.a. role is almost tantamount to misleading everyone here.

Quote: