Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   SIM-UOL fresh grad starting pay (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1491-sim-uol-fresh-grad-starting-pay.html)

Unregistered 11-08-2016 09:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 89383)
Some great points made above regarding opportunities and salary expectations. People on the forum can have their own opinions on how valuable the SIM-UOL degree is - ultimately, it is the market that decides. Forcing your opinions and putting others down in this forum isn't going to change the reality you will face when looking for a job.

Better to be humble and take advice of SIM alumni who have paved the way and show that it is possible to make it with a lot of hard work (and some luck).

Does anyone know what SIM-UOL grads end up doing after graduation? I'm in my final year of SIM and would like to get into consulting. Would be great if you can let me know my chances of getting a first round interview. Any suggestions of target companies will also be appreciated.

Thanks.

Chances are quite low for MBB consulting, best is to try the 2nd tier firms which still have a good chance. Starting pay is not as good as MBB, but still quite decent ~4k if you are good/lucky enough to get in.

Unregistered 15-08-2016 10:32 AM

Question

Hi,

Would like to ask opinions on the following:

relevant/interesting job with steep learning curve in an unknown small firm

vs

a back-end role job in a bank/MNC that provides branding to resume but no relevant exposure

assuming pay and other benefits are roughly the same

Unregistered 15-08-2016 01:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 89493)
Hi,

Would like to ask opinions on the following:

relevant/interesting job with steep learning curve in an unknown small firm

vs

a back-end role job in a bank/MNC that provides branding to resume but no relevant exposure