Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Pay as an accounts assistant

Old 31-08-2011, 11:35 AM
Verified Member

Imbiah is on a distinguished road
Default Pay as an accounts assistant

Hi all. Would like some help here. I am a Diploma graduate, and I am currently in my final semester in RMIT degree in Accountancy and Law.

I have been offered this job as an accounts assistant, and the pay is $1700. Would like to know if I am underpaid? My last drawn was $1600, but I have minimal experience in the accounting line.

Another thing I would like to ask is, does anybody know what is the career progression rate in the accounting industry?

TIA for all your help.

Old 31-08-2011, 01:25 PM
Unregistered

So are you a dip holder or deg holder? You have to be very clear coz the $1700 that they offered you is probably based on the rate of dip holder (I assume you show them your dip instead of your deg since you havent offically grad based on what u mention.)

My advice is, go try the big 4 accounting firms (after you got ur deg), get the brand name and then jump. No point wasting your time and effort for $1700 coz you will get stuck with a low pay even after you get your deg. ie start low end low.

Old 31-08-2011, 06:00 PM
Verified Member

hi I am a diploma graduate. will be getting my degree at the end of the year.

The company has offered me $1,800 in the end. The thing is that I am not really interested in working at big 4, not my cup of tea.

I would like to ask if anyone knows what the career progression is like in the line of accounting? And once I get my degree, will my pay increase immediately? or what? thanks a lot.

Old 03-09-2011, 06:19 PM
Unregistered

After your degree, go for ACCA. Then see if your present company offer a promotion for you. Else go somewhere else with your experience.