technical role in pharmaceutical company or clinical research associate - advice pls - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

technical role in pharmaceutical company or clinical research associate - advice pls

Old 12-02-2015, 11:17 PM

fruiti is on a distinguished road
Default technical role in pharmaceutical company or clinical research associate - advice pls

Hey people,

Is anyone working as clinical research associate or technical role in pharmaceutical industry could provide valuable advice on which jobs would be better in terms of :

-salary
-career advancement
-working life

I am a life science graduate and considering whether whether to join pharmaceutical company as (QA/ manufacturing biotechnologist) or as clinical research associate. as both jobs leading to different future, thus, i am considering as which one will have better prospect

Old 13-02-2015, 12:23 AM

aGuy is on a distinguished road

I believe you are referring to biopharmaceutical company.

Be prepare to work rotating shift (day/night) if you are doing manufacturing.

As for career progression, you would be taking on supervisory role in manufacturing in the future.

Old 13-02-2015, 02:47 AM

Is it bad to work for shift? There are allowance for shift and isn't that one's will receive higher pay?

Could you share like the advantages and disadvantages working in manufacturing departments?

Old 14-02-2015, 09:05 AM
aGuy-

Haha nothing bad to work in shift, except that you would require to have discipline to sleep for the rotating adjustment.

Advantages:

- Allowances (Transport, shift, OT)
- Generally, you don't have to bring any work home
- Biopharma is a relatively safe environment as compared to O&G and Chemical

Disadvantages:

- Rotating shift (You need to adjust properly or this would become a health hazard)