Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Please advise on my career path plan (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1451-please-advise-my-career-path-plan.html)

Liverpool 01-08-2011 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by seablue (Post 14923)
Yea, I know that MBA does not guarantee $7k, i read up a lot of masters with $3k+ in this forum too...

But i thought that if i have a 2 years of experience at a managerial level in a regional company, coupled with MBA (albeit not a listed company). I might have a chance to get a managerial position in a SME, which is probably about $7k? Please correct me if i am wrong.

Of course, I am not yet a manager yet in my company, but i am rather confident in doing so, so please advise base on the above scenario.

there is no SME that pays u $7k a mth, unless u r the SME boss or u damn zai and bring in more than $7k worth of business a mth.

assuming u are going corporate route and want to be middle management, MNC always pay more, sad to say u will always lag in terms of qualifications to others who graduated from good local unis.

find ur niche, dun compare apples to apples, and in your case, degree to degree or mba to mba with those from good schools, because you will always lose out.

Unregistered 01-08-2011 11:11 PM

I personally think he should not even be considering MBA at this point.

Unregistered 08-08-2011 05:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by seablue (Post 14923)
Yea, I know that MBA does not guarantee $7k, i read up a lot of masters with $3k+ in this forum too...

But i thought that if i have a 2 years of experience at a managerial level in a regional company, coupled with MBA (albeit not a listed company). I might have a chance to get a managerial position in a SME, which is probably about $7k? Please correct me if i am wrong.