Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Need advice - local bank or bulge bracket bank? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/14146-need-advice-local-bank-bulge-bracket-bank.html)

sardonique 11-10-2021 11:59 AM

Need advice - local bank or bulge bracket bank?

i have offers from both a local bank (DBS/UOB/OCBC) and BB (JPM/MS/GS) and need advice into accepting which offer. i have about 6 years of experience in the KYC/onboarding space in a big bank but not a BB. both offers are MO/BO supporting FO to complete KYC.

1. considering that both banks offer the same salary, will having a BB in your resume adds advantage in career, e.g. when changing jobs, or does BB offer better progression in terms of increment and bonus? BB definitely requires more working hours a week but i don't mind if it's worth it for the name, just have to endure for 2 years.

2. in the KYC space, which segment offers better progression or is there no difference? i'm currently in corporate banking (MNCs as customers). Will be doing private banking in BB and the same thing in local bank. most of my peers seem to have a perception that private banking is better.

thanks in advance!

Unregistered 11-10-2021 10:15 PM

KYC has progression? I thought KYC and AML was for those who behkan compliance one. One day hoping to promote to a junior compliance role.

Unregistered 13-10-2021 09:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 185914)
KYC has progression? I thought KYC and AML was for those who behkan compliance one. One day hoping to promote to a junior compliance role.

What is "junior compliance role" could you elaborate? junior is just a ranking and compliance is a broad term covering all domains of compliance from product compliance, regulatory compliance, licensing, AML, communications surveillance and many more

Unregistered 14-10-2021 07:57 AM

Quote: