Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Private Banking Salaries

Old 31-07-2011, 08:50 PM
Contributor

Default Some facts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Liverpool View Post
couldn't agree more...
Dear bros, I work in a bank. Just to contribute some facts here.

1. Bankers do churn their customers in order to meet their targets. Bankers talk about the revenue they generate, not the profit they make for customers. For most products, they have some discretion how much spread they want to take from customers. For eg. If pdt A earns 8% interest, banker can tell customer it earns 5% interest and pockets the 3%. If you think this is not very right, then you are not suited to work as private/priority banker.

2. Accumulators/ structured finance/ pdts are still around and selling like hotcakes.

3. When an earlier post mentioned using leverage to increase a 100M AUM to 150M AUM to generate more revenue, it doesn't mean the banker helped the client to make 50% profits! It merely meant that the client can buy more stuff using his 100M (aka gearing, leverage, financing, borrow to buy more etc) I agree that if the banker can help the client make 50% profits, he would hv already set up a hedge fund himself! The truth is, bankers care more about their own revenue targets.

Old 03-08-2011, 11:30 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
you serious? Advising clients to have 50% gain is quite impossible esp now where the banks are not extending much leverage to the client. Plus these days, clients are in risk avoidance mode, no more accumlator structures, no more structured finance stuff. how to make money without taking risk or leverage? good old days are gone, that is why CS and UBS are cutting staff as their revenues are not increasing as fast as salary compensations as their churn rate is getting lower....

anyway, if you can make 50% for client, you are actually better off running your own hedge fund.