Low Paying Stable Job vs High Growth Risky Job - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Low Paying Stable Job vs High Growth Risky Job

Old 07-01-2021, 12:59 AM

johnny123 is on a distinguished road
Default Low Paying Stable Job vs High Growth Risky Job

Hi all, I am a fresh graduate who graduated in 2020 but just got offered 2 different positions. The first is a job as a project manager at one of the research institutes in Singapore paying SGD3,100 and the other is as a product manager in a Chinese listed OEM company paying SGD4,000.

Pay wise it is a no brainer, but from what I understand and hear from Chinese companies I am a little concerned that the company may not be what it markets itself to be, especially when I go on linkedin and find that there is no one in Singapore hired under the company as it is a new HQ. No glassdoor reviews or tianyacha the chinese version for some reason. And the contract is a little vague in terms of the job responsibilities.

The project manager job sounds a little less intimidating, but it feels like a potential dead end because it is contract based but what I hear is contracts usually get renewed and the jobscope looks like something that is mostly admin work and have little to no relevance in industry. But the good thing is I know the contract won't be dubious because it is from a reputable research institute in Singapore.

Both are great offers, however, and I am very appreciative of getting them especially in this economy. And want to get everyone's thoughts on this.

Old 07-01-2021, 09:45 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny123 View Post