Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Comp Science Frsh Grad Salary (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/13323-comp-science-frsh-grad-salary.html)

Unregistered 14-01-2021 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 153538)
I'm a sme business owner and we have hired fresh grad before. We can't compete with brand multinational corporation so we usually give them higher pay to lure some.. If they can't develop, we will let them go...

In the past, we got a few caliber one. None of them are FCH. Just humble hardworking developer.
In return we give them space to work their craft. And eventually we have them higher increment eg 10% to 15% increment to retain them since it will cost us more to hire and train new people...

But recently fresh grad are asking for 5k which is ridiculous because we can easily find 2 to 3 years experienced developers for only 4k. But becuaae of recent employment pass policy change (due to covid) it is 4.5k.

So 4.5k for a foreigner with 5 years working experience. Portfolio of their work.
Or a 5k fresh grad with no experience but just nice cert from nus.

No brainer. But because of the high cost. We are slowly moving all our development work to India...
No choice. We can't sustain. Its too expensive.

So we are comprising quality and control but at fraction of the cost.
Tech industry is only for the fabulous.

if hire from nus, you must look at their software engineering grades + no of internships

Unregistered 14-01-2021 02:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 153538)
I'm a sme business owner and we have hired fresh grad before. We can't compete with brand multinational corporation so we usually give them higher pay to lure some.. If they can't develop, we will let them go...

In the past, we got a few caliber one. None of them are FCH. Just humble hardworking developer.