Dilemma regarding possible career switch - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Dilemma regarding possible career switch

Old 30-08-2020, 11:24 PM

lostzw is on a distinguished road
Default Dilemma regarding possible career switch

Hi everyone. I am currently facing a dilemma in regards to my long term career goals. So here's a little bit about myself:

I graduated with a Materials Engineering degree from NTU last year, and am currently working in the semiconductor manufacturing industry as a process engineer dealing in electrical testing where i have been working for around 6 months now. Recently, i have realised that this industry is actually not something i am fond of pursuing in the long run, and that's why i have been thinking really hard over this pandemic period about what do i truly want out of my career. So as such, i have actually considered possible career paths based on my interests on what i truly want out of my long-term career goals:

1. Environmental Sustainability/management related field ( am considering pursuing masters from local universities such as NUS Msc in Environmental management which is the closest to this, but seems they require working experience / background in environmental-related fields). Personally, i am actually more inclined towards helping organizations in analyzing, researching and providing consultancy/guidance in improving their sustainability practices( here's a JD example of what i feel i would enjoy doing: https://eygbl.referrals.selectminds....aduates-135362), but i know such jobs are scarce here in SG.