Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   desperate (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1284-desperate.html)

hail 28-03-2011 10:58 AM

desperate

Hi there, I am a recent (dec) degree graduate in accountancy and finding it rather challenging to get a job. I have reach a rather desperate mode where I am willing to accept anything that comes my way.,. I am just wondering if anyone has any advice on career path or anything useful.. I would appreciate any advice :D thank you !

k3vin 28-03-2011 11:49 AM

Hmmm... are you intent on just going down your field of accountancy?

Job market's pretty good to be honest, offers quite easy to come by.

Is your expectations too high? Where did you grad from?

hail 28-03-2011 12:01 PM

I am a recent graduate (not from a local U) with no experience and no ablity to speak chinese..

I am expecting at least $2 k

maybe I am doing something wrong? .. Any suggestions will be appreciated

k3vin 28-03-2011 12:07 PM

2k is pretty reasonable, you have not answered my question.

Are you looking for positions only within the Big 4 or just any firm would do? Thats a big difference.

Your chinese speaking capabilities should not hinder you too much I would think?

What are the places you have been applying to?

hail 28-03-2011 12:21 PM

I am an SIM graduate. I have been applying for mid-tier accounting firm, mnc's and local companies . Some seem to prefer chinese speaking so they can liase with working associates / client

I just got an offer for 1.8K an admin job nothing to do with accountancy.. 1.5 years contract no bonus or anything...but everyone is saying i should not accept anything less than 2.2 because it will hinder my futher pay .. what are your thoughts

k3vin 28-03-2011 12:29 PM

Yes I agree with what you have been told.
2k+ is the bare minimum I would accept if I am you.
Have you got any honours?