Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Do statboard/ministry see work exp and/or qualifications? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/12602-do-statboard-ministry-see-work-exp-qualifications.html)

navi 27-04-2020 10:22 PM

Do statboard/ministry see work exp and/or qualifications?

Was offered a job at a statboard with 2.3 as starting for a diploma holder. However, I have about 4 years of previous work experience in civil service with Olvl cert and pay was barely 2. Also got my dip last Sep.

Just wondering - do statbord/ministry just look at paper or do they see your work experience? Am I getting the shorter end of the stick with 4 years exp but getting same pay as a fresh dip holder?

Unregistered 27-04-2020 11:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by navi (Post 132883)
Was offered a job at a statboard with 2.3 as starting for a diploma holder. However, I have about 4 years of previous work experience in civil service with Olvl cert and pay was barely 2. Also got my dip last Sep.

Just wondering - do statbord/ministry just look at paper or do they see your work experience? Am I getting the shorter end of the stick with 4 years exp but getting same pay as a fresh dip holder?

Public sector is quite structured in nature. The position u applied for, did it state that it requires a diploma? or did u said o levels cert?

Unregistered 27-04-2020 11:33 PM

actually mainly qualification...

diploma cert only better dont go govt.. unless cannot find better one la..

you will forever stuck at that low pay..

navi 28-04-2020 01:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 132886)
Public sector is quite structured in nature. The position u applied for, did it state that it requires a diploma? or did u said o levels cert?

It did specify dip as requirement. Wonder if should take the job given the covid situation and find another if not happy.

Unregistered 28-04-2020 01:29 AM