Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Starting pay for Masters in Economics (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1245-starting-pay-masters-economics.html)

Olligod 25-02-2011 12:20 AM

Starting pay for Masters in Economics

Hi everyone,

I'm an international student studying for a master's degree in economics at a Singapore university.

I started grad school pretty much right after my undergrad so I don't have any work experience.

Right now I have one more year to go before I finish my masters. I should be able to take a few finance classes in addition to my economics classes before I graduate. I think I'll also be done with the CFA level 1 by the time I graduate.

I don't really care what kind of job/industry I get into, teaching, gov't stats board, consulting, finance, etc all are fine.

May I know what kind of starting pay I should expect?

FINANCE 25-02-2011 10:47 AM

Hi, we just hired a fresh grad with a Msc in Economics from a SG uni. Her base salary is $4.5k excl bonuses. Hope this helps.

FINANCE 25-02-2011 10:47 AM

This is in the financial services sector btw.

what 25-02-2011 03:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Olligod (Post 9812)
I don't really care what kind of job/industry I get into, teaching, gov't stats board, consulting, finance, etc all are fine.

Your starting pay is based on your job, not on your qualifications.
I have seen Msc Econs grads being paid anything from 2k - 4.5k.

humph 25-02-2011 06:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Olligod (Post 9812)

Since you are studying a Masters in Econs, you should know that pay is determined by demand and supply in a particular industry, not the paper qualifications you have. The pay an econs teacher gets and the pay an IB analyst gets will obviously be very different.