Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   How much pay should I expect as a lecturer? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1217-how-much-pay-should-i-expect-lecturer.html)

veil 28-01-2011 04:52 AM

How much pay should I expect as a lecturer?

Hi there,

Anyone got an idea please help!
I have a UK masters degree in International Business, now looking for a job as full-time/part-time lecturer in Singapore (towards undergraduate students) but wondered how should I answer to the question about my expected salary, sure there would be differences between full time and part time roles (probably the latter got a hourly rate basis?) and different institutes pay differently but may I ask if anyone got an average number in mind? Say MDIS?

Thanks a lot x

Unregistered 28-01-2011 09:22 PM

you do u have experience? y shud i hire u?

veil 30-01-2011 07:50 AM

Thank you. Interesting questions! I’ve been working in customer service and marketing for the past 5 years for UK based companies having their operations in Vietnam, my home country including 6 months working for HSBC as customer relationship officer so I would say yes, I have work experience. Although I have no lecturing experience, if that is what you’ve asked, I’ve got many transferable skills that would be a big compensation also a genuine passon for learning new knowledge and skills is my plus. In addition, having experienced UK education environment as a student, I have quite an idea about inovative studying and teaching methods. My question concerning salary was to make sure I will not either overestimate or to underestimate myself as an experienced customer service professional but looking to apply for something fresh through an entry level.
What would you suggest as an answer?

veil 30-01-2011 08:40 AM