Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

PhD salary

Old 12-02-2010, 09:47 PM

bgx is on a distinguished road
Default PhD salary

Hi,

I am getting an interview for a job in an Singapore branch of a European-based civil engineering consultancy. I am sure that the will ask my salary expectation in the interview.

I just completed a PhD at a reputable university in UK (funded by a UK research council and my university). I did an MSc in another country in western Europe prior to the PhD. I only have less than 1 year experience, in a slightly different field though. How does multinational company in Singapore values postgraduate degree from good universities in Europe? Could anyone let me know what salary range I should expect? Can I get something around 4000-6000 ? is there normally allowance included?

Many thanks. Your comments are very appreciated!

Old 13-02-2010, 12:46 AM
Unregistered

If your PhD is relevant to the job, then 6k, else 4k. In SGD.

Why didn't you stay as a research fellow? Or become a Prof?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgx View Post
Hi,

I am getting an interview for a job in an Singapore branch of a European-based civil engineering consultancy. I am sure that the will ask my salary expectation in the interview.

I just completed a PhD at a reputable university in UK (funded by a UK research council and my university). I did an MSc in another country in western Europe prior to the PhD. I only have less than 1 year experience, in a slightly different field though. How does multinational company in Singapore values postgraduate degree from good universities in Europe? Could anyone let me know what salary range I should expect? Can I get something around 4000-6000 ? is there normally allowance included?

Many thanks. Your comments are very appreciated!

Primary School English Grammar and Vocabulary Drills

SG Bus Timing App