Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   More education, better job opportunities? (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1141-more-education-better-job-opportunities.html)

curryrice 20-12-2010 11:13 AM

More education, better job opportunities?

Hi, I graduated with a local NTU degree in Electrical/Electronics engineering 4 years ago. There are many foreigners from China and India in my company.

I was wondering if getting a Masters degree (in engineering) would help to provide an "edge" for my career?

Opportunities for advancement are mostly provided to these guys, while locally born-and-bred guys like me are given supporting roles.

Not too sure if a Masters would help... I asking here 'cos I not too sure if it would be time and money well-spent on a Masters degree (in engineering).

Your advices would be very much appreciated.

Unregistered 20-12-2010 09:13 PM

sorry to say, the straight answer is no. it is more advisable to pursue a diploma or a post grad diploma.

firstly, singapore is not an engineering hub, companies would prefer to employ experienced engineers, preferably diploma holders because it is more cost efficient. in singapore, experience counts.

secondly, the demand for masters holder is low. look through job sites: mostly are looking for "degree or diploma preferred". Good luck in finding one which is specifically looking for masters.

if u want a masters, u can excel in ur career in countries like UK or US.

curryrice 21-12-2010 04:53 PM

in that case, there may be no need for SIT and SUTD... :)

Unregistered 21-12-2010 09:13 PM

u already said it

u already said it - u got no advancement in ur company ... why dont u change company ??

curryrice 22-12-2010 04:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 8340)
u already said it - u got no advancement in ur company ... why dont u change company ??