Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Choosing between 2 contract jobs from public and private sector (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/10804-choosing-between-2-contract-jobs-public-private-sector.html)

okaio 17-09-2018 05:46 PM

Choosing between 2 contract jobs from public and private sector

Hi, I'm a fresh grad and I was recently offered a 6 month contract at a stat board, and a 2 year contract at a private institution. Pay difference is about $200 apart.

While of course the obvious choice would be to accept the latter, the industry that I hope to enter is definitely more related to what the stat board is doing, and might even want to pursue further studies in the area! If not for the short contract duration, and the lack of security of a 6 months contract job, I'd accept the offer... So am at a dilemma here, really.

Just wondering if anybody have any knowledge of contract jobs in the public sector? And what's the chance of conversion, extension, or whether there's a higher chance of getting hired at other positions?

Thank you!

Unregistered 17-09-2018 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by okaio (Post 110268)
Hi, I'm a fresh grad and I was recently offered a 6 month contract at a stat board, and a 2 year contract at a private institution. Pay difference is about $200 apart.

While of course the obvious choice would be to accept the latter, the industry that I hope to enter is definitely more related to what the stat board is doing, and might even want to pursue further studies in the area! If not for the short contract duration, and the lack of security of a 6 months contract job, I'd accept the offer... So am at a dilemma here, really.

Just wondering if anybody have any knowledge of contract jobs in the public sector? And what's the chance of conversion, extension, or whether there's a higher chance of getting hired at other positions?

Thank you!