Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Education and Personal Growth (https://forums.salary.sg/education-personal-growth/)
-   -   What is an Oxbridge degree worth nowadays? (https://forums.salary.sg/education-personal-growth/845-what-oxbridge-degree-worth-nowadays.html)

pstarz 14-03-2010 09:48 PM

What is an Oxbridge degree worth nowadays?

Hi guys,

I graduated 1st class and did my masters at NTU. I am working at a back office job (operations) in an investment bank but I would like to move to front office.

I really want to go into the front office - IB/sales/trading/MA
I was recently offered a place into Cambridge MPhil (Judge business school programmes, it is not a finance degree)

I've been working for 1 year already and my salary is $57k/year. The thing is programme at cambridge is gonna cost me at least $60k for 9 months.

I would like to ask what is an Oxbridge degree worth nowadays? :( Is it worth it getting another masters degree? or should i do an MBA later (but im not sure if i can get into any of these top schools)?

Dont wanna spend 60k for nothing...

Unregistered 15-03-2010 06:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by pstarz (Post 5439)
Hi guys,

I graduated 1st class and did my masters at NTU. I am working at a back office job (operations) in an investment bank but I would like to move to front office.

I really want to go into the front office - IB/sales/trading/MA
I was recently offered a place into Cambridge MPhil (Judge business school programmes, it is not a finance degree)

I've been working for 1 year already and my salary is $57k/year. The thing is programme at cambridge is gonna cost me at least $60k for 9 months.

I would like to ask what is an Oxbridge degree worth nowadays? :( Is it worth it getting another masters degree? or should i do an MBA later (but im not sure if i can get into any of these top schools)?

Dont wanna spend 60k for nothing...