Question to ask about self-source Summer internship - Salary.sg Forums

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Education and Personal Growth

Education and Personal Growth Schools, further studies, getting ready for employment, and motivation stuff

Question to ask about self-source Summer internship

Old 04-04-2016, 07:43 PM

zero_88 is on a distinguished road
Question Question to ask about self-source Summer internship

I need to ask you guys something about summer internship

Recently I manage to persuade a company to allow me to work as intern

But the boss not very familiar with the internship procedure, so he ask me some question of what document is required if I want to work as intern

1) Do he need to submit any document to my school if I work at his company as Intern?

2) In future, how to prove that I work in this particular company before? Does he need to write anything for me to make it valid?

3) What document he or I is required to submit to ensure this internship is valid?

4) Is it okay that I just work at his company and declare that as a "internship", I am not clearing any AU through this internship, this is just something "extra".

I am a newbie in those stuff, I never go through my school, this is just a self-source internship. I am not sure, so I check with you all.

Please advise, NTU student here.

Old 04-04-2016, 11:02 PM

Firstly, if there isn't module credit involved, then no need to go through school. You only need to get the school to recognise the internship if you want to clear your credits.

Secondly, you can call anything you want to be an internship. You can flip burgers at Mcdonalds and also call that an internship. What's more important is what you actually learn there. If there's no structure in the "internship" then you'd better set some goals for yourself. Ultimately, you will need to talk about it with your next employer for internship or graduate employment. So, better make the time there count.

So,

1) No, he doesn't need. Because there's no units/credits involved.
2) You are your own proof, interviewers will know whether you're bluffing. If you want, ask him to write you a letter of recommendation/testimonial at the end of internship. Or get a linkedin account, add him, and then ask him to write you something good.
3) Nothing, ask the HR, because i assume you are paid.
4) It is okay.

Old 04-04-2016, 11:19 PM

I just want a simple internship doing simple thing for 3 month only

-No need very big company
- I am from computer Science
- Looking for simple office admin job 3 month internship
- Not very strong in programming

Where can I find those lepak internship?
Originally Posted by :
just share lobang that is lepak, zo bo lan, meet-headcount internship

I dun mind help to help those auntie photocopy paper and carry stuff for 10 weeks

as long as the pay is decent and willing to help me write testimonial

://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/ntu-304/how-find-intern-ship-easily-5320036.html
://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/degree-programs-courses-70/question-ask-about-self-source-summer-internship-5338635.html

Old 04-04-2016, 11:26 PM

Okay, good luck with your life.