Getting MBA worth? - Page 15 - Salary.sg Forums

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Education and Personal Growth

Education and Personal Growth Schools, further studies, getting ready for employment, and motivation stuff

Getting MBA worth?

Old 26-10-2021, 02:02 AM

Local MBAs are trash. HYP or INSEAD then can open doors
Yes, need secure a GMAT score of 700 and school fees of half a 4rm HDB that has to be paid off in one year. Hence the previous posts, unless you are a high flyer who has earned alot or company sponsor you because they see you as a potential to be the next CEO/CFO/CTO/MD, not many can really really achieve that. If can achieve that great, you are the top 0.1% in the world (99.9th percentile). For me, top 5% can liao. Let the cream of the crop buy a Rolls Royce or Ferrari, I'm contented if I can afford a new Aston Martin or Porsche.

Old 08-11-2021, 10:50 PM

Any thoughts on the Tsinghua-MIT MBA? It's a 2 years program at less than S$40k plus you get the China network which is more desirable than US/Europe network in Singapore.

Old 09-11-2021, 01:51 PM

Any thoughts on the Tsinghua-MIT MBA? It's a 2 years program at less than S$40k plus you get the China network which is more desirable than US/Europe network in Singapore.

Go for it!

Old 13-11-2021, 02:48 AM

Yes, need secure a GMAT score of 700 and school fees of half a 4rm HDB that has to be paid off in one year. Hence the previous posts, unless you are a high flyer who has earned alot or company sponsor you because they see you as a potential to be the next CEO/CFO/CTO/MD, not many can really really achieve that. If can achieve that great, you are the top 0.1% in the world (99.9th percentile). For me, top 5% can liao. Let the cream of the crop buy a Rolls Royce or Ferrari, I'm contented if I can afford a new Aston Martin or Porsche.
Insead is not abt the school fees but the barrier of entry.
To enter one must be great. So employers look at that.

Whereas any ah Mao ah gou can enter nus ntu smu mba
Old 04-03-2022, 10:58 AM

i thought it's both school fees and intelligence? That's why the rich and smart people can go to INSEAD.
Old 04-03-2022, 07:21 PM

the ability to network with certain ppl makes it all worth it

Old 24-03-2022, 09:02 AM

zero_88 is on a distinguished road

In summary

MBA is only useful for high flyer people in banking and finance industry for his ROI?
Old 24-03-2022, 02:08 PM

Originally Posted by zero_88 View Post
In summary

MBA is only useful for high flyer people in banking and finance industry for his ROI?
not necessary. how much you get out of the programme really depends on the individual

curriculum wise, useful to understand how to rrun a proper business.

networking wise, really depends on whether u fully utilise it.
Old 07-04-2022, 01:58 PM

Local MBAs are trash. HYP or INSEAD then can open doors
Unfortunately only a few select elites can attend elite programs like INSEAD or HSW.

INSEAD is especially hard to break in as there's a quota on each nationality. Every year the school caps the intake at about 10 odd Singaporeans. Minus away those that are MBB sponsored, there are only about 5 odd Singaporeans who are self sponsored every year. Not to mention the Alumni interviews which you need to pass to get in. These alumni only allow candidates with prestigious backgrounds eg MBB/high finance to pass as they don't want low-calibre candidates to dilute their prestigious INSEAD branding, not after they have spent a few hundred K on the degree itself. It's a bloody high barrier to entry.

And even if you get in, the school fees are more than 2 times the price of local MBAs. Unless one is really earning high income eg at least $8K+ at about late twenties (average age at admission), one wouldn't really be able to afford/get a decent loan quantum.

Also consider the fact that INSEAD has a campus in Singapore, this gonna drive up the applications from Singaporeans. So if you are a Singaporean applying to INSEAD, it is like an uphill battle carrying a 20kg field pack with matador. Only creme de la creme can get in. So for most people, local MBAs still remain as a more attainable option.
Old 07-04-2022, 02:07 PM

I think must be both great and rich too leh. To enter you must be great, but how do you verify it? Top schools like Insead also very smart. Since you say you are great, then you must be able to afford the exorbitant school fees also lah, if not you could be bluffing.

nus ntu smu mba barrier to entry really very low. it's usually applied by people in china or india who want to come over to singapore. my friend complain the class is like 90% filled with china/india.