Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Education and Personal Growth (https://forums.salary.sg/education-personal-growth/)
-   -   Fresh grad dilemma (https://forums.salary.sg/education-personal-growth/14029-fresh-grad-dilemma.html)

feelinglost 26-08-2021 04:35 PM

Fresh grad dilemma

Hi everyone,

I just graduated this year with a social science degree but still can't find a job as of yet. Since my degree is quite general I've applied for a range of jobs but with no luck.

Been wanting to pursue a career in UX design for some time now but didnt come round to it as it would take some time to study/take up courses. But since I havent had much luck in my job search I'm considering taking time off applying for jobs to beef up my UX portfolio instead.

Im not sure if I'll be making the right choice by doing so and am getting more and more demoralised with each passing day seeing how my friends have all already found a job :(

Any advice for a lost grad here? Thanks

Unregistered 26-08-2021 07:05 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by feelinglost (Post 181278)
Hi everyone,

I just graduated this year with a social science degree but still can't find a job as of yet. Since my degree is quite general I've applied for a range of jobs but with no luck.

Been wanting to pursue a career in UX design for some time now but didnt come round to it as it would take some time to study/take up courses. But since I havent had much luck in my job search I'm considering taking time off applying for jobs to beef up my UX portfolio instead.

Im not sure if I'll be making the right choice by doing so and am getting more and more demoralised with each passing day seeing how my friends have all already found a job :(

Want to study what you like, this is what you face. Simple.

Unregistered 26-08-2021 07:24 PM

Quote:

Hi everyone,

Want to pursue UX but don't want to put in the hours, you want employers to hand you a UX job with no portfolio/experience?