More education, better job opportunities? - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Education and Personal Growth

Education and Personal Growth Schools, further studies, getting ready for employment, and motivation stuff

More education, better job opportunities?

Old 20-12-2010, 11:14 AM

curryrice is on a distinguished road
Default More education, better job opportunities?

Hi, I graduated with a local NTU degree in Electrical/Electronics engineering 4 years ago. There are many foreigners from China and India in my company.

I was wondering if getting a Masters degree (in engineering) would help to provide an "edge" for my career?

Opportunities for advancement are mostly provided to these guys, while locally born-and-bred guys like me are given supporting roles.

Not too sure if a Masters would help... I asking here 'cos I not too sure if it would be time and money well-spent on a Masters degree (in engineering).

Your advices would be very much appreciated.

Old 20-12-2010, 04:26 PM
Verified Member

dellysunny is on a distinguished road

Degree and Masters does not make much difference in the engineering line. What I suggest is to spend sometime figuring out the difference between those guys and yourself. In order to perform, you need either to be strong in your technical stuff or strong in handling people if you are not strong in both at the same time.

Old 21-12-2010, 12:33 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by dellysunny View Post
Degree and Masters does not make much difference in the engineering line.
Not only does it not make much difference, the returns from getting a Masters are negative.

You are effectively telling your prospective employers that you are prepared to waste time getting something which does not make much difference.

How can an employer trust someone who doesn't have a sense of opportunity costs?

Old 30-12-2010, 09:57 AM

curryrice is on a distinguished road

Quote: