-   Companies (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/)
-   -   ST Electronics (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/3060-st-electronics.html)

Unregistered 05-03-2021 04:28 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157823)
Huat ah.
No bonus

any source for this?

Unregistered 05-03-2021 04:36 PM

Already said 2 weeks ago to tender with conviction already. Praying for bonus might as well pray to strike Toto Group 1.

Unregistered 05-03-2021 04:56 PM

Tender then how to pay credit card loan, car loan, housing loan,

Unregistered 05-03-2021 05:00 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157847)
Tender then how to pay credit card loan, car loan, housing loan,

Who ask you to over leverage. St electronics must eat cai png, take public transport and live hdb.

Unregistered 05-03-2021 07:02 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157849)
Who ask you to over leverage. St electronics must eat cai png, take public transport and live hdb.

No bonus???

Unregistered 05-03-2021 08:20 PM

13th month bonus is in our pay

Unregistered 05-03-2021 08:22 PM

what about variable bonus

Unregistered 06-03-2021 10:10 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157870)
what about variable bonus

if by 18 March no bonus letter means no bonus liao
bonus is u still have a job....

Unregistered 06-03-2021 10:11 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157824)
only management huat ar!

and E6 below all jiak sai

Unregistered 06-03-2021 11:01 AM

Bonus is you still get to keep your job

Unregistered 06-03-2021 11:02 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157901)
if by 18 March no bonus letter means no bonus liao
bonus is u still have a job....

So interesting. How they give you the letter? Mail? Hand delivered?

We outsource only get email... And only after the contract completion etc to inform how much is your new salary and bonus...

No letter. Only disappointment

Unregistered 06-03-2021 12:05 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157908)
So interesting. How they give you the letter? Mail? Hand delivered?

We outsource only get email... And only after the contract completion etc to inform how much is your new salary and bonus...

No letter. Only disappointment

letter in the form of email

Unregistered 07-03-2021 12:24 AM

yeah got letter

Unregistered 07-03-2021 10:21 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157975)
yeah got letter

huat ah? got bonus?
how many months?

Unregistered 07-03-2021 10:30 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157993)
huat ah? got bonus?
how many months?

letter is to say my contract won't be renewed

Unregistered 07-03-2021 10:46 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157996)

is this real?

Unregistered 07-03-2021 11:29 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157997)
is this real?

Fortunately I have been interviewing, hopefully will get an offer soon

Unregistered 07-03-2021 04:11 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158000)
Fortunately I have been interviewing, hopefully will get an offer soon

My condolences. But hey, at least u got out of here.

Unregistered 08-03-2021 10:26 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 157996)

just leave ST and find other job liao...no point staying long term

Unregistered 08-03-2021 11:13 AM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158068)
just leave ST and find other job liao...no point staying long term

So that someone like u got chance to continue stay in ST lol.

Unregistered 08-03-2021 12:14 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158069)
So that someone like u got chance to continue stay in ST lol.

Must protect my iron rice bowl

Unregistered 08-03-2021 01:14 PM

Anyone from training and simulation can advise what is the culture like?
I attended an interview for software but can't seem to get what the culture iis like.

Feels very secretive.

I'm interested in the job description but at the same time I'm not sure whether I have the simulation background for it?

I come from Web development background.

CorgiHamster 08-03-2021 03:28 PM

Starting pay for SgIS scholar?

currently FCH from NTU, planning to apply for SgIS scholarship into ST, aiming to do Robotics & AI in ST. Anyone know how much the starting pay today? Heard from career coach is very high now, like mid 4k, but i see people here still burning ST for terrible pay?? very confused now

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:32 PM

Originally Posted by CorgiHamster (Post 158107)
currently FCH from NTU, planning to apply for SgIS scholarship into ST, aiming to do Robotics & AI in ST. Anyone know how much the starting pay today? Heard from career coach is very high now, like mid 4k, but i see people here still burning ST for terrible pay?? very confused now

FCH don't waste your time at ST

CorgiHamster 08-03-2021 03:34 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158109)
FCH don't waste your time at ST

but then people say scholarship got guarantee fast track progression leh

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:35 PM

Congrats.
I joined ST as mechanical engineer back in 2008 with starting pay of 3k.
Every year increment is like 3% on average. One peodinotioj I got 8%.

So right now im close to 4.8k.

So I'd you join as fresh grad now. I probably get same pay as your or lower but I'm 13 years exp.

Yes sad. But ofc I excluded the 2 to 3 months bonus in the equation.

Not sure why work so many years so long only to be on par with fresh grad.
Its also like, wait for it, experience has no value.

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:38 PM

Originally Posted by CorgiHamster (Post 158110)
but then people say scholarship got guarantee fast track progression leh

All the more reasons don't join.
Your colleagues all are like 2nd lower, private uni, diploma, won't respect you fch for being privileged.
You won't gain any respect here.

So don't join better.
Join dsta or a star those scholars places so your can flaunt your FCH amongst each other. Then they can compare dual degree or MIT or business degrees or master or PhD.

Don't come ST cause ST engineers, including management are all average students, so is average employee now

CorgiHamster 08-03-2021 03:40 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158111)
Congrats.
I joined ST as mechanical engineer back in 2008 with starting pay of 3k.
Every year increment is like 3% on average. One peodinotioj I got 8%.

So right now im close to 4.8k.

So I'd you join as fresh grad now. I probably get same pay as your or lower but I'm 13 years exp.

Yes sad. But ofc I excluded the 2 to 3 months bonus in the equation.

Not sure why work so many years so long only to be on par with fresh grad.
Its also like, wait for it, experience has no value.

so its true fresh grad starting pay for IT close to 4k+ already? any sources? or hearsay from fresh grads in ST? regarding your salary, back in 2008, career coach say the pay was horrible... so i guess its unfortunate to join at that time since your progression will be pegged to starting salary?

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:40 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158112)
Your colleagues all are like 2nd lower, private uni, diploma, won't respect you fch for being privileged.

So don't join better.
Join dsta or a star those scholars places so your can flaunt your FCH amongst each other. Then they can compare dual degree or MIT or business degrees or master or PhD.

Don't come ST cause ST engineers, including management are all average students, so is average employee now

Worst kind are managers with average brain but scholar pay check, won't listen to fch advise one.
You will end up always arguing with dumb managers and your seniors...
You won't be happy here.

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:40 PM

just curious, u FCH wouldn have been poached already? I'm surprised you are looking here for information(genuine curious)

CorgiHamster 08-03-2021 03:42 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158112)

So don't join better.

haha once in industry, degree class matters meh? i tried DSTA mid term scholarship instant reject wor, nt even given chance to interview. build my resume gao gao also fail

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:43 PM

Originally Posted by CorgiHamster (Post 158113)
so its true fresh grad starting pay for IT close to 4k+ already? any sources? or hearsay from fresh grads in ST? regarding your salary, back in 2008, career coach say the pay was horrible... so i guess its unfortunate to join at that time since your progression will be pegged to starting salary?

Around 2016 ish the benchmark from HR is 3.6k...but 2019 got pay scheme change. So bonus go into base to make it more attractive but annual is the same.

So it's not unlikely frsh grad get 4k now. Cause my junior who joined 2019 asking for 3.5k got offered 3.6k.je was very happy cause company offered him more than he ask. But he didn't know he got the benchmark salary..

So after 1 year and pay change. His base become 4k become happy again. But he didn't realised that fresh grad joining that year is also 4k so he is still getting fresh grad pay after 1 year.

ST is good in illusion

CorgiHamster 08-03-2021 03:45 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158115)
just curious, u FCH wouldn have been poached already? I'm surprised you are looking here for information(genuine curious)

ya, got a few IT companies asked me on LinkedIn to go interview with them.. but they looking for immediate start job. I still year 3 doing my compulsory internship. the issue is that im having this dilemma of

Scholarship, low pay, but guarantee fast track career progression
VS
No scholarship, higher pay and more established companies, but no fast track career progression

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:46 PM

Originally Posted by CorgiHamster (Post 158116)
haha once in industry, degree class matters meh? i tried DSTA mid term scholarship instant reject wor, nt even given chance to interview. build my resume gao gao also fail

You'll be surprised. We have seniors join. ST still asking for his uni grades 20 years ago for the grades. Not the honors. They want to see each grade...

CorgiHamster 08-03-2021 03:47 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158117)
Around 2016 ish the benchmark from HR is 3.6k...but 2019 got pay scheme change. So bonus go into base to make it more attractive but annual is the same.

So it's not unlikely frsh grad get 4k now. Cause my junior who joined 2019 asking for 3.5k got offered 3.6k.je was very happy cause company offered him more than he ask. But he didn't know he got the benchmark salary..

So after 1 year and pay change. His base become 4k become happy again. But he didn't realised that fresh grad joining that year is also 4k so he is still getting fresh grad pay after 1 year.

ST is good in illusion

what role your junior involved in? im assuming AI/Robotics will command a higher pay though

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:50 PM

Originally Posted by CorgiHamster (Post 158120)
what role your junior involved in? im assuming AI/Robotics will command a higher pay though

How much they offer?
My junior doing data analytics/data scientist

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:52 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158121)
How much they offer?

I'm more mechanical engineers but we needed to build the team to have some data analytics machine learning, neural network, so that's where my junior come in.

But in my department, my junior is like that one who is doing data analytics.

CorgiHamster 08-03-2021 03:53 PM

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 158121)
How much they offer?

wa also IT related but the pay not even near mid 4k ah? i thought data/AI/robotics all at least 4.5k+ or even possible 5k+ sia

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:54 PM

Originally Posted by CorgiHamster (Post 158116)

You FCH also lose. I think you lose to dual degree. Those from NUS with MIT master degree kind.

Unregistered 08-03-2021 03:59 PM

Just a hearsay. Don't take my words for the truth. On average this is what you will get. Maybe your starting salary can get >=5k, depending on how you manage to negotiate your package. You enter, you realize pay package from FCH from NTU and other universities almost no difference. You come in even if you are a high earner compared to other E5s, need at least 3 years of grade A straight for promotion or 5 years on average before promotion. You will realize you usually are working for someone who doesn't have your interests in play. If your manager is not favored by his/her manager, even worse. You will probably have to tank a lot of nonsense because you are 'FCH' from NTU. Also your career fast-track or not depending on whether your manager want to fast track you or someone he/she prefers.

SGIS is also half-funded by the ministry and half-funded by ST(not sure about the percentages now). This means that assuming you are 4 years NTU program, you have to serve 4 years of work in ST (minimally) for 2 years of funds that ST paid for.

On a personal note, I tried to go to their AI department many times. I was constantly being told that the AI department is not earning money and finding reasons to cut people. I know the person in charge of their AI department previously. Let's just say he wasn't around after October 2020.