Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Companies (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/)
-   -   DSTA (under Mindef) (https://forums.salary.sg/companies/1940-defence-science-technology-agency-under-ministry-defence-singapore.html)

Unregistered 18-09-2021 09:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 183185)
I am a CS student in NUS, y4 now, and applied for a software engineering role in the enterprise IT deparment.

I passed the first round, then yesterday had 2nd round of interview. I passed the interview and just got a provisional offer, base pay 3.9k but 4-4.6k after I graduate. The pay will be scaled according to my degree classification.

When I was talking to the recruiter, he mentioned that DSTA works by 16 months meaning I will get 12 months pay + 4 extra months pay? I don't understand what this all means and I'm so confused.

I am not sure if I should accept this offer or not, they are giving me a 7 day window to accept/reject this offer and I'm not sure if this offer is good.

Anyone here working at DSTA as a software engineer can advise on the work culture and if this is a good offer? Please help :(

CS majors should always look for private sector jobs first, only join gov if you have no other choice

Unregistered 18-09-2021 07:41 PM

As a cs grad, i would recommend you consider the other departments like infomation pc, digital hub and pc8. You will learn alot more there and apply your skills and knowledge better. Culture depends alot on your bosses but people are generally friendly and nice. If you hate your boss, you can easily flag to change your team or dept 24/7.

12 months base + 13th month + civil/public service bonus + perf bonus. why dont you apply for the internship to learn more?

Unregistered 28-09-2021 04:36 PM

Same

Quote:

Originally Posted by Unregistered (Post 183185)
I am a CS student in NUS, y4 now, and applied for a software engineering role in the enterprise IT deparment.