Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Lawyer Salary
Thread: Lawyer Salary
View Single Post
Old 24-01-2017, 07:12 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
Hi I would like to check with my learned friends on this forum on the prospects of a litigation versus a transaction lawyer. I'm a local uni student in my final year, been offered a TC to do corporate work at one of the big four. However, I've recently re-discovered my passion for litigation (shall bear you all the details of that), and seriously considering transferring to liti.

However, I have serious concerns about my speaking abilities, as I'm far from a charismatic or good speaker. My pragmatic consideration is whether or not I should transfer to liti where I might have greater interest whilst probably limiting my future career prospects, or staying in corporate where the money is allegedly better than liti (as a partner at least), and where the skills are more transferable to other sectors?

On that note, does anyone know how compensation schemes in the big four work for equity partners? Is it based on how much work a partner can bring in, or is it like the magic circle firms where it's based on a global pool?
Hi my learned friend,

My advice as a 2nd yearer in practice is don't try to run before you learn how to walk. you have a long career and life ahead of you. your life isn't decided based on which practice area you choose to hop in first; many successful and famous lawyers didn't train in what they are presently good at. most of them also have been in practice for a gazillion years and picked up their skills along the way.