Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - career switch
Thread: career switch
View Single Post
Old 31-10-2015, 12:14 AM
Estate Agent

Wink

Hi Dear,

I have been an estate agent for 20 years since 1995.

My honest opinion to you it is never an easy path or option for you to consider this as a replacement of your current salary of $5K.

Yes, we do close deal and secure commission in 5 digits or some even 6 digits. Don't get blinded to earn such good commission without putting much effort and time.

Though you can control your own time and allow you to schedule based on your convenience, however you would realise soon that it is not possible as you would be putting much effort to secure any appointment in order to have a higher hit rate of closing.

Especially now the market is so weak, you would find out that your effort running up and down, marketing expenses would drain you up soon.

In my 20 years, I saw many rookies that make high 6 digits commission annually for a few years. After that, the stamina burst and not easy to maintain continuously such high earning which also partly depending on luck besides hard work.

Should you really consider to be an estate agent, you should plan long term and build up the trust and good relationship with clients and not thinking of your interest first, meaning own commission.

Otherwise you may do very well for 1-2 years and die off soon.

Think seriously about it and don't waste any more time. Once you set your mind to be an estate agent, work hard and all out, don't think that money flowing in would be constant and save to prepare for zero commission for many months.

It is purely for money sake, I bet soon you would give up when you see no deals for months.

Interest and maintaining good relationship continuously with my customers are some of the main reasons that I still hanging on.

Good luck to your next career!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 35yearsold View Post
Need some advice.