Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Biz Analytics, Finance or Mathematics
View Single Post
Old 23-08-2014, 02:50 AM

chobits is on a distinguished road
Question Biz Analytics, Finance or Mathematics

Hi all,

10 years ago, I was forced to leave NTU civil engineering after studying there for 3.5years. my results were really bad, failing some subjects 2 or 3 times. With just an A level cert, I joined the workforce. I was a telemarketer, insurance agent, private tutor, sales coordinator and then admin assistant.

I finally repaid my tuition fee loan and also settled down as admin support in life insurance underwriting department, where I've been working for the past 2 years. When I started my first job, my pay was only $1300 but I'm getting a decent $2400 now. My current boss is very supportive of training staff and I learned a lot under her. Recently, I was also given the opportunity to help out with the work in claims department. I am quite happy with where I am right now. However, deep in my heart, I still want to get a degree.

I learnt that I am still eligible for government subsidy for a degree and would like to enrol with Unisim. I narrowed my choices down to Business Analytics, Finance and Mathematics.

I have always been working in a financial institution so I thought very naturally I should get a degree in Finance. Furthermore, it conforms to CFA level 1 and 2. Getting this degree would also arm me with the knowledge to invest my own money in future.

When I first saw the course BSc in Business Analytics a few years ago, I was very excited and wanted to study it right away. It involves working with large amounts of data and translating to end users. However, it also seems to be a very new and rojak course so I'm afraid it won't be recognised. Then I thought why not get a degree in Maths instead as it is a very versatile degree.

Quote: