Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Need career advice! HELP!
View Single Post
Old 10-08-2014, 09:27 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by littlesunray View Post
hello people,

i need some help in making decisions regarding my career. because i am stuck and i don't know what to do. any advice will be greatly appreciated! sorry that it is just a long post... but i really need u to understand so that u can help advise me...

thank you!!

-----------
where i started:
i graduated with an accounting degree at a local uni but did not join big 4 immediately because i didn't really like what i studied . i literally suffered through university and i felt that it really was not suited for me. of cos, i scored Cs throughout except for my electives like marketing, psychology etc.

first career:

hence, i decided not to waste my time suffering in big4 (likely will not pull through the 3years) and tried contracting teaching in a pri school.

i thought i would enjoy it because i used to volunteer and generally liked kids. i thought a job with more social aspect will be better for me (knowing myself, i don't think i have the maturity at that point in time to handle career in social work).

altho i did enjoy teaching and colleagues/supervisors were great, but i did not sign the PGDE bond. mainly because i was always having gastric and just literally tired from taking all the classes (my school was shorthanded) from 8am to 4pm (with one 1hr and one 30min break in btw.) also, i felt that i could not teach for the rest of my life and transiting out from teaching to other sectors will be harder. it will also render my accounting degree obsolete, and i need a mental challenge that teaching cannot offer.

second career: