Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - How much are you earning per annum?
Old 31-10-2013, 11:45 AM

Not really. My colleagues who stay in condo are already intent to stay in government for the rest of their lives.

Paying instalments of 1.3k with a 4k salary only requires $400 top up in cash after using CPF. Public sector annual increase also about 4-5% on average quite stable, bonus 4-5 months and no major screw up eventually can retire at 10k salary.

The risk of being fired in government is relatively low definitely not financial suicide lah. A lot of young civil servants, esp teachers & jr officers / mid specs in uniform groups, are buying condos but I've never heard any of them going about boasting and acting as if having a condo is your ticket to high society. Most are just buying it as a form of retirement savings on top of CPF.

Good or bad decision I don't know, but just wanted to highlight that buying a condo is very common in the public sector among junior staff, those who think living in a condo is a sign of financial elitism had better wake up their idea.
dun talk rubbish plz. u jealous that others are buying condo and u cannot afford due to low pay thats why keep trying to downgrade others? try n work harder to upgrade ur hdb instead of insult others here