Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - How much are you earning per annum?
View Single Post
Old 26-05-2023, 10:56 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
I have retired at age 55 and this is how I do it. I am writing a book therefore I am an expert. You have to listen to me as for I am an expert. I am not Singaporean, I am from India but many Indians have great success in Singapore because we know the secret to retirement while you Singaporeans do not. Let me share the secrets.

Retirement is a significant milestone in one's life, representing the culmination of years of hard work and dedication. While traditional retirement ages hover around 65, an increasing number of individuals aspire to achieve financial independence and retire earlier. This essay delves into the story of how one individual, with careful planning, discipline, and strategic decision-making, managed to retire at the age of 55 in Singapore, a city-state renowned for its high living costs and competitive environment.

Setting Clear Retirement Goals:
At a relatively young age, our protagonist recognized the importance of setting clear retirement goals. By envisioning the desired lifestyle, they were able to calculate the required savings and investments needed to sustain themselves comfortably in retirement. They acknowledged that Singapore's high cost of living necessitated a robust financial plan, and they set ambitious targets accordingly.

Diligent Savings and Investments:
Retiring early in Singapore requires diligent savings and disciplined investments. Our retiree-to-be developed a habit of saving a significant portion of their income throughout their working years. They made informed decisions to cut unnecessary expenses, opting for a modest lifestyle, and diligently saved the surplus. Moreover, they educated themselves about different investment options and diversified their portfolio to maximize returns while mitigating risks.

Embracing the Power of Compounding: