Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Lawyer Salary
Thread: Lawyer Salary
View Single Post
Old 28-11-2022, 03:50 AM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
To all the young lawyers or lawyers to be dreaming about the big international firm move. I hope to offer you some perspective.

In terms of background, I am an oxbridge grad and a former JLC. I joined the disputes team in a JLV in a very prominent international firm after my JLC stint. The firm I joined was known for having the cream of the crop, many other JLCs were in the team apart from me.

It started enough. The salary was great - 20k+ even as a fairly junior associate. Fairly good work as there was an SC, and the network was also helpful in providing work.

Unfortunately, the firm then underwent a redirection where profitability took on paramount importance. The disputes team had expanded to more than 20 members, all high paying, and it was difficult to justify that continued expense. Soon, we heard of some more senior members being asked to leave, some were sent on secondment to be put on pasture. We were told to keep our head down and we would be taken care of amidst all of this.

But as things transpired, the axe ultimately fell. A few of us were told individually that the firm could no longer sustain all of us. We were given some time to find an alternative practice or to in house, and to be fair if the preference was for the latter, the partner did his best to assist with referrals and connections.