Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - High Finance Thread
View Single Post
Old 08-09-2022, 10:14 PM
Unregistered

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
hi all, i’m currently a penultimate student at local uni. looking for some career advice so appreciate any unfiltered and honest insights!
i have internships in 2 IB boutiques and 1 strong PE. The PE does not convert and only take in IB people. Should I go buy or sell side right out of undergrad? Of coz this is assuming i get offers but I wish to focus my effort on one.

IB:
Pros- Exit Opps + Prestige + Money
Cons- i really hated my life in IB. Everyday get fked and the anxiety was no joke

PE (GIC/Temasek etc):
Pros- Friendlier culture + Good pay
Con- Lesser pay and prestige. Exit opps limited? If cmi get pushed to MD at subsidiary
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered View Post
hi all, i’m currently a penultimate student at local uni. looking for some career advice so appreciate any unfiltered and honest insights!
i have internships in 2 IB boutiques and 1 strong PE. The PE does not convert and only take in IB people. Should I go buy or sell side right out of undergrad? Of coz this is assuming i get offers but I wish to focus my effort on one.

IB:
Pros- Exit Opps + Prestige + Money
Cons- i really hated my life in IB. Everyday get fked and the anxiety was no joke

PE (GIC/Temasek etc):
Pros- Friendlier culture + Good pay
Con- Lesser pay and prestige. Exit opps limited? If cmi get pushed to MD at subsidiary
Everyone here is kinda toxic but I'm just gonna be real honest about it.
"Should I go buy or sell side right out of undergrad? Of coz this is assuming i get offers but I wish to focus my effort on one."