Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - How is life as a doctor in Singapore?
Old 03-12-2021, 01:10 PM

lol. if u hit 60 patient per day consistently, ur bonus gao gao in line with clinic head level Liao
ops. you would have exceed expectation.
as someone say before , there is ops style med and there is m.med level style med. you do m.med style for every case , u die cock stand.
ops trick when doing acute queue is to know what patient want la
mc? dun waste too much time. just give. I straight give 2 days when the adult come in with
headache. NSF sorry, time chit, go back see camp mo. u can wait 2 hours to see me, u can survive going back to see mo.
referral? no need ask this ask that. just write pat keen for referral, refer.
dun talk too much also. some patient see u chatty, keep ask buay paiseh. every skin lesion, white hair, itchy pussy, itchy anus all ask u.
chest pain? cxr, ECG , refer a&e. pat decline, red flag advice given. case close. die when u step out from clinic, sorry, I advice Liao.

chronic patient I work harder la though. my teamlet patient I control chronic gao gao . stable guys out u go , collect meds see u 4 months. save time to counsell those poor control one .
secretly I'm proud I probably save a few heart attack and stroke. I mark down all my rp and junior fp who anyhow. write diet advice given, pls la, I ask patient what did previously doctor tell
u, u got counsel properly or not all come out., still dare to write counsel patient on lifestyle mod.
actually all chronic patient , as long as they are coming back to see u, demonstrate an interest in their heath, whether they take med or increase dose is how u counsel them.
But nowadays documentation more important than counselling.
E.g your chest pain guy, if you document "return advice/red flags given". You are safe even you didn't actually do it and pt dies.
Conversely, if you did tell him Abt the red flags/return advice but didn't document, he dies of mi, you can still be sued.

I just left the system but when I was mopexing in ops/Ed/im, my seniors/consultants always say documentation is king.
Osteoporosis counselling and bisphosphonate initiation when I was in gm, our documentation is 2 pages (talk Abt all risks, benefits, side effects, alternative, mechanism of action, follow up, failure of treatment etc) but the actual conversation with pt is less than 1 min ("we give you med to strengthen the bone ah, sometimes can cause stomach problem but will give you med also, don't worry")

. We can write so much simply because there is a smart text/template specially designed for such purposes (I guess is to protect us from lawsuits lol)

In Ed there is even a special tutorial for all mopex on "documentation to protect oneself as in what sort of thing we MUST write for certain presenting complaint, but no tutorial on comms skills lol.