Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - Lawyer Salary
Thread: Lawyer Salary
View Single Post
Old 16-09-2021, 07:13 PM
Unregistered

%Hello everyone. My nephew is looking to borrow money, approximately 50k, to fund his local education in law in Singapore. I have been browsing through these forums about studying law and working as one and it seems like the ROI for this degree in its initial years is uncertain with a long, bumpy road ahead.

Can I confirm this view of mine? Do you people in the industry recommend to go for the law degree in Singapore? 50k is not a small sum.

Thank you.

%Hey there,

I'm a law graduate from NUS, obtained a FCH and graduated July 2020. Completed TC with a boutique litigation firm that's an Asian Legal Business finalist/other awards in Benchmark Litigation/Chambers/Straits Times Survey on Singapore's best law firms, and got retained for a TC midway through my TC. I sat for and passed Part B of the bar exams in June 2021.

I applied for TCs in October 2019. Might have been a tad late, but I did apply for 3 out of the international firms. I got rejected by all of them. Maybe it might have something to do with my late application, or maybe the 'impression' that firms have of NUS graduates in general aren't too good. I can't give you a definite answer on that.

However, having a sense of friends who've interned at places like TSMP Law, they've heard partners make comments in passing about the purported 'high quality' of NUS graduates. This spurred many of my friends to want to stay in Singapore for as long as possible to seek out graduate roles because of the perceived non-discrimination against NUS grads vis-a-vis SMU or overseas grads.