Salary.sg Forums - View Single Post - How is life as a doctor in Singapore?
Old 15-05-2021, 01:18 AM

Pls la. For every investment banker u read online and newspaper that earn 500k pa, there are 1000 more wannabe who is making Ur average salaryman money with fear of retrenchment every few years. U can be capable ish but get posted to a unit that some honcho in hq decide to shutdown to streamline the business , u still become jobless. If u young and hungry , maybe a bit pretty can still jump, but once u hit 40s, no one wants u liao.

Medicine u dun make it big ( saved for a few ) but as a cohort, the most beh gan guy still can make 10k as a chill 8 to 5 gp ,more if willing to work hard and have a job for life that is relatively resilient to financial crisis, covid. Even if war strikes , Ur skills set is still needed.
For doctors there is no bonus for performance of the actual work. Eg no bonus for actually treating patient and they recover. No bonus for succeasful surgery. None. Instead it works on the basis if you screw up then you get penalized. Oh and the go the extra mile is not in thinking hard how to heal this patient but what QI project or research paper to write. Just follow the guidelines do step by step. Works or dont work for patient doesnt matter make sure you follow the guiedline SOP. Also if you try soemthing out of rhe bix and it works no bonus if it goes awry you are ****ed. Very demotivating to actually try to be actual doctor who wants to gove patients results.
Whereas in banking......sometimes take risk. No your money. At most get fired. You decide the bonus worth risking job and future or not. If it works wah lau eh the bonus is so big your eyes pop out. Slow tortoise no fun lah and usually walk and walk then end up dead. Fast hare exciting an even sleep during the race!