Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Sacked during probation?

Old 25-10-2014, 12:58 PM

ragnarox13 is on a distinguished road
Default Sacked during probation?

Hi dear forumers,

I was previously employed by an local mnc as an accounts personnel.

I was told to leave during my 3 months probation with the following reasons provided by my employer:

1) Not answering questions quick enough. My employer commented that I took too long to think of the answers to her questions. (My own personal thought here is that I am still new to what I am learning and thus needed time to rehearse my thoughts in case I said the wrong things)

2) Making typo mistakes on numbers in a record sheet that was used for reconciliation purpose everyday. My employer commented that she could not withstand such small mistakes and that it is very important to keep accuracy to a high standards at all times.

As I am still considered a fresh graduate with no working experience. May I know if the above reasons are reasonable enough? I wouldnt comment on other aspects of the job etc. Just like to have some comments / feedback on the above. Thanks!

Old 25-10-2014, 01:36 PM
Unregistered

sorry to hear that. these reasons are valid. they should be more forgiving. perhaps the typo mistake is rather serious if auditors come across this, or critical items don't add up.

i was in the same situation as yours, so you need to do something about accuracy and learning fast. learn to double check and make a mark, it's ok to go a bit slower for better accuracy.

if you really want to keep your job, the only thing you can do now is to talk to your employer maybe for the last time, apologize and tell them what steps you plan to take to avoid the stated situation. assure them it takes time for you to perform up to standard or even offer to extend probation to 6 months. good luck.