Really that bad for engineers?

Old 10-11-2010, 01:31 PM

I assume you graduate in 2006 july and start working in ST electronic from fresh grad.
I also assume you got a 1st Class honours from local NTU/NUS.

$104000 per annum (13 months payout for the whole year) mean your basic salary as of now = 104000/13 = $8000/month

Assume your starting pay in 2006 july is $3000 with annual increment of 8% for 'A' grader performer for 4 years + 1 promotion to senior engineer increment (also additional 8% increment).

-->your current salary should be = 3000 x 1.08 x 1.08 x 1.08 x 1.08 x 1.08 = $4400

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Unless you are working oversea eg, Israel with overseas allowance which is additional of about 2000-3000 on top of your basic salary , then you should be getting as what you had mention.

Otherwise you are totally bullsh!t here.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: My brother is working in ST electronic for 5 years arm with Master degree some more getting no more than $3300/month.

Please reply
Thank you
5 yrs with Master gets your brother 3.3k
I have friends who graduated from poly now earning 5k and they are only 30 yrs old. Engineering is so dead in SG. I believe in a few years time, an engineer in China will earn more than an engineer in SG.

Old 10-11-2010, 03:11 PM

I have friends who graduated from poly now earning 5k and they are only 30 yrs old. Engineering is so dead in SG. I believe in a few years time, an engineer in China will earn more than an engineer in SG.
I just want to say that this is a true fact, People working under ST Engineering group, be it (aerospace, kinetic, electronic, marine), Fresh grad starting salary (pass degree to 1st class) the range is 2600 to 3200.

the default annual increment and promotion increment is around (3% to 8%) depends on performance

Just to justify that someone who working under ST group with 4 yrs of exp, should be getting around $3300 to $4400 basic salary (excluding bonus, aws...etc), depends on performance.

That guy claim that he get about $8000 basic salary at age 29 under ST group with 4 year exp is totally 'WOW' unbelievable

Old 10-11-2010, 04:07 PM

That guy claim that he get about $8000 basic salary at age 29 under ST group with 4 year exp is totally 'WOW' unbelievable
The guy claiming 8000$ mite be wrong. But a Masters degree earning 3300 after 5 yrs is simply pathetic. That means that has been no increment what so ever.

A senior engineer should be earning around 6-7 k $. However, a fresh undergraduate mite not reach senior engineer position is 4 yrs. The guy claiming 8000SGD mite have worked elsewhere before joining ST or he mite be very good.

Old 14-11-2010, 08:31 PM

Engineer are a respectable lot in Countries like USA, Australia and UK. The type of engineer that makes a lot are those who work in the Oil/Gas/Mining Projects, not those who work for the operation of the finished plant or in the office in Singapore. While the job is challenging, you do expect to relocate to new places once the project is completed. Hence, the sacrifice could be quite alot especially if you have companion, and even worse if you have family.

I have worked my way up from a Project Engineer, then Engineering Manager and now Regional Manager. Looking back it had been been alot of hardwork and sacrifice I have put in, but financially it has been lucrative. I am beginning to see fruits of the hardship and plan to retire in my early 50s while my kids continue their tertially education overseas.

Bottom line is Engineering is a good career if you shape it the way you want it to be, otherwise, like all other discipline it could be another mundane dead end career.
Old 14-11-2010, 08:46 PM

Looking at the above posts, conclude engineering is very very bad and risky.

Oil & Gas is very risky field. Hands-on level to make $ is against Robert Kiyosaki Rich Dad's advice. You are there to risk you precious life making this $$. People from other faculty, kopi kopi their way to earn 20k-30k a month. Entirely unfair........ skills/no skills aside. Their skills are kopi kopi taichi taichi skills......... better than IpMan.

Look at the VPs of listed companies, what they do everyday? Skillful or not?

We should stop making Engineering Faculty a dumping ground, attract top students, encourage President Scholars to study engineering, limit the no. of engineering grads. Number not cap, very hard............ very hard to survive in this line.

Lastly, start your own business. Don't think about jobs. Employers always want to save $$$ to answer to shareholders. Don't expect them to pay you well every year. CEO change only everyone shaken up, SVP's heads all rolling around. Everybody start looking for jobs elsewhere.

Just do it... Start business lah......
It is wrong perception that Oil/Gas job is risky. In fact, the work procedure makes it so safe that the probability that event could go wrong is much smaller than being hit by car in traffic accident. I have been in Oil/Gas engineer for the last 20 years and has been making big bucks while enjoying a safer environment than elsewhere.
Old 14-11-2010, 09:05 PM

aiya all of us sgp cant be engineers one la. onli good at office admin stuff, office politics, use mouth but nt brains and hands.

see, even the new casinos in sg are all not built by sgp. i watched a recent documentary on building the marina bay sands. its one hell of a big magnificent project. but sgp plays no part in building it. all the project manager, engineer, architect to construction workers are foreigners. sgp so lazy, onli wan to sit in office, wait for money fall onto them. dun get dirty how to build big stuff. period.

sg engineering industy almost all gone alr la, or was never there in the first place... left all the sales, marketing **** office work here onli la. think wat hub wat hub, if u onli have office workers here, the big mncs can be here for a moment, but they can easily relocate to other places.

people who cant use their brains, hands to make things will ultimately be on the losing end.
I am one Singaporean who build/construct bigger infrastructure than Marina Bay Sands overseas. I chose not to do it in Singapore simply because I will not be paid the right amount. Think about stacking another Marina Bay on top of the existing one. This is the type of challenges I am dealing with. Bear in mind that you do not see such infrastructure in one single country. Such expertise move all over the globe.

Old 15-11-2010, 02:31 PM

Intro:
Femail civil engineer with 10yrs experience. Local NUS grad with good grades. Not one of those who take engineering because no where to go.

My advice:
Study engineering by all means, but try to go into finance or banking. Don't be like me, stay in this line until too late to switch. All for the "passion" to be an engineer.

Or go into biz, law, med if you can. For practical reasons- the pay is simply better and less risk at work.

When you are young and enthu, you will want to be an engineer- you'll enjoy the challenges of working on site, building huge structures. But then, after you have a family, you start to want better things for your family.

And unfortunately, engineering really doesn't pay that well. It's enough to get by, get a car, maybe enable you to get a nice property (if you save hard enough, though this is uncertain with current property prices). But you cannot expect to be rewarded as much as bankers, etc.

So, the bottom line is- should you follow your passion or take a better paying job (which probably have better work life balance)?
Old 15-11-2010, 05:00 PM

Intro:
Femail civil engineer with 10yrs experience. Local NUS grad with good grades. Not one of those who take engineering because no where to go.

My advice:
Study engineering by all means, but try to go into finance or banking. Don't be like me, stay in this line until too late to switch. All for the "passion" to be an engineer.

Or go into biz, law, med if you can. For practical reasons- the pay is simply better and less risk at work.

When you are young and enthu, you will want to be an engineer- you'll enjoy the challenges of working on site, building huge structures. But then, after you have a family, you start to want better things for your family.

And unfortunately, engineering really doesn't pay that well. It's enough to get by, get a car, maybe enable you to get a nice property (if you save hard enough, though this is uncertain with current property prices). But you cannot expect to be rewarded as much as bankers, etc.

So, the bottom line is- should you follow your passion or take a better paying job (which probably have better work life balance)?
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I would like to ask: what makes you think that biz, law, med or banking pays better than engineering? Is it based on actual comparisons with your personal friends who are kind enough to show you their payslips? Or is it based on reading the unvalidated articles in this website?
Old 15-11-2010, 09:39 PM
Going to ORD

Unhappy

does any1 know how much can a diploma Electronic eng after ns basic pay range will be ?
Same here. Got a low gpa: 2.39 ecc engg dip. Nowhere to go, so go into engg course. Suck in almost everything, html, c++, autocad, object-oriented etc. Though i don't like engg, but I'm still willing to learn, what are the chances i will still be hired as an Engineer? Or what other jobs to try getting in to earn starting pay between $1.7k - $1.8k?
Old 19-11-2010, 03:07 PM

ngyi0009 is on a distinguished road

I'm 25 and a fresh engineering graduate with honours from a local university. I just accepted my first job as a production engineer with a manufacturing MNC and will be relocated to China straightaway.

I like engineering because I personally like science and mathematics. Singaporeans who feel constrained by engineering have to leverage on their other advantages. As PM said, China's universities produce many excellent engineering graduates, but Singaporeans have to play the card which highlights their strengths, be it to be able to communicate with both westerners and the chinese, or our management expertise. That's how Singaporeans remain competitive.

At least this is what I believe now. I'm still a noob when it comes to the working world. I hope I'm not wrong and regret my decision in the future.