How is life as a doctor in Singapore? - Salary.sg Forums
Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

How is life as a doctor in Singapore?

Old 04-11-2009, 05:50 PM

uk_doctor is on a distinguished road
Default How is life as a doctor in Singapore?

Hi,

I'm currently a doctor, graduated and working in the UK. Recently I have been thinking about moving to Singapore to live and work. Main reason being the quality of life over there.

What I wanted to know is how is the work/life balance as a junior doctor? How often do you have to work a weekend and how often are you doing an on call shift?

Another reason for moving over there is to be able to travel around Southern Asia during my spare time, but if I won't have any spare time then it really defeats the point.

Any information would be gratefully appreciated.

Old 04-11-2009, 07:37 PM
doctor

Have you read the comments at: Doctors’ pay | Salary.sg - Your Salary in Singapore
and
Income of GP Doctors | Salary.sg - Your Salary in Singapore

Quote:
Originally Posted by uk_doctor View Post
Hi,

I'm currently a doctor, graduated and working in the UK. Recently I have been thinking about moving to Singapore to live and work. Main reason being the quality of life over there.

What I wanted to know is how is the work/life balance as a junior doctor? How often do you have to work a weekend and how often are you doing an on call shift?

Another reason for moving over there is to be able to travel around Southern Asia during my spare time, but if I won't have any spare time then it really defeats the point.

Old 04-11-2009, 09:28 PM

I did read those comments, especially the descriptive account of doctors being treated like 'slaves'. Just wondering whether other doctors agreed with this or not. If that is the case then I have an amazing deal right here at home!

Old 04-11-2009, 11:07 PM
Unregistered