Salary.sg Forums  

Go Back   Salary.sg Forums > The Salary.sg Discussion Forums: > Income and Jobs

Income and Jobs Discuss jobs, career options and of course salaries

Advice regarding finance internships

Old 01-02-2015, 10:57 PM

yourplaceormine is on a distinguished road
Default Advice regarding finance internships

Hi everyone,

I'm in my 2nd year in uni, and i'm currently looking out for a finance related summer internship, however I still don't know what kind of role I am really interested in, nor do I have much knowledge about the various fields in the industry.
Other than IB, what would be the next best option in finance? As of now, I am pretty keen on private banking, so where should I try interning at? The major banks probably won't hire a 2nd year, so would i stand a chance at the boutique banks?

Also, apart from IB, what other fields in finance would make breaking into private equity or venture capital more possible?

On a side note, I have a internship offer at a company mainly dealing with insurance, and although the internship is supposedly in wealth management, I have my doubts as this is not an internship at a bank, but rather an insurance company. Could anyone shed some light on the difference, if any, on WM at an insurance company and at a bank?

Thank you.

Old 02-02-2015, 01:14 PM
Unregistered

you should find out if the wealth management internship at the insurance company is just insurance agent in disguise. Those insurance agencies like to package their insurance agent job nicely with grant names and grant job descriptions to 'trick' the inexperienced undergrad in.

And you will only know if you are interested in something by doing it. use ur time in uni to do a few internships (take leave of absences if u must) and see which suits u most. And start with small banks... ur chance of getting into big/investment banks will be very low if you do not have any banking related internship experience to tok about.

Old 02-02-2015, 01:51 PM