Salary.sg Forums

Salary.sg Forums (https://forums.salary.sg/)
-   Income and Jobs (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/)
-   -   Working in a bank (https://forums.salary.sg/income-jobs/1230-working-bank.html)

ericgohjunhui 14-02-2011 12:24 AM

Working in a bank

I'm currently a part time student in UOL, doing BSC Banking and Finance and its my second year. Currently I'm working in the government organization and I'm 25 this year. I do not have much working experience after being enlisted at the age of 21. I hope to work in a investment bank in future (work related to the financial markets, hopefully at the front office) because i have strong interests in this sector as i have been trading and reading up on the financial news daily. I need advise if i should leave the organization now to gain some working experience related to investment. If i don't leave, i will be graduating at the age of 26 with no working experience.
If i were to leave now before completing my degree, what type of job can let me gain the relevant experience?
If i were to leave upon graduating, what can i start off with?
Really in a mess now. Thanks alot

Unregistered 14-02-2011 08:30 AM

gosh. seems everyone has "strong interest" in whatever that has these keywords: trading, front office, investment bank, goldman, morgan, big bonus, ...

ericgohjunhui 14-02-2011 09:22 AM

this is not the case. cos i do have interest in the fast past n challenging working environment thats why i took up banking and finance. would appreciate if there is ppl out there willing to give some advice on how can i achieve it. its good to hear so real life experience from the seniors. thanks

laguna 14-02-2011 09:47 AM

I see too many 20+ looking to work in a bank, particularly investment banks or in finance
So I asked one new grad, do u know what is an investment bank or finance, answer : blank.
Just join? big bonus, big pay, perks
what are these banks looking for? blank